Venice History

Venice, an Italian city, is the capital of the Veneto region, which is the eighth region in size in this country.
Venice is “the city of canals” and is famous for its lagoon and its channels.
So let’s discover a bit of Venice history.
Venice colonization dates back to the Middle Ages. In the 5th century, the first inhabitants came to the marshy islands to escape the Barbarian invasion of Mongols and Lombards.
Over time these islands, surrounded by water, started to take the shape of the city. We can say that Venice is the only city of its kind in the world. In 1866, after the third war for independence, Venice became part of Italy.
Venice is built on 120 islands that are joined by about 455 bridges. Indeed, Venice City is shaped by 118 islands linked by 354 bridges and divided by 117 canals. There are six main districts: San Marco, Canareggio, Santa Croce, Castella, Dorsoduro and San Polo. Grand Canal delimits the six main neighbourhoods. The city has three port mouths Cióxa, Malamoco and Lido.
Piazza San Marco (San Marco square) is the heart of Venice. This is should be your starting point to visit the town. All around the square you can appreciate some famous building:
– St Marks Basilica (Basilica di San Marco)
– Palazzo Ducale
– St Mark’s Campanile (Campanile di San Marco)
– St Mark’s Clocktower

Page Under Revision

This page is under review and updating. Sorry for the inconvenience.
If you don't find the information you were looking for, do not hesitate to contact us. We are more than happy to assist you.

Or fill in the form below to get our updated travel tips.

    Leave a comment